A Message to General Members:

This summer, the County will hold elections for the following seats that are set to expire on December 31, 2020.

  • Second Member Board of Retirement
  • Second Member Board of Investments

For the first time, General Members will be able to cast their votes either online or by telephone. The online and telephone voting systems will be available for the duration of the election period. In August 2020, eligible General Members with valid County email addresses will be sent individualized login credentials to access the ballot. There will be no paper ballots sent out to General Members.


A Message to Retired Members:

LACERA elections for the following positions on the Board of Investments and Board of Retirement will occur this summer:

  • Retired Member and Alternate Retired Member, Board of Retirement
  • Retired Member, Board of Investments

The terms of office of the current officeholders will expire on December 31, 2020.

Retired members will now have 3 options for casting their vote:

  1. Online
  2. Telephonic
  3. Paper Ballot (upon request only)

Look for the initial notice that will be mailed to you in May 2020 with details on the upcoming election, the new voting options and how to request a paper ballot. This notice will include the deadline for requesting paper ballots.


Retired Members are encouraged to supply their current email address to LACERA, if not already provided, to allow voting information and reminders to be sent via email. The email will include a direct link to the ballot and instruction for telephonic voting. To update your information, please contact LACERA.  

LACERA Background Information

State law requires that the Board of Supervisors conduct an election to fill vacant or expired seats on the Los Angeles County Employees Retirement Association (LACERA) Board of Investments and Board of Retirement. LACERA is a public entity separate from the County that was created to provide retirement, disability and death benefits to County employees.

The primary objective of the Executive Office in coordinating the LACERA board member elections is to ensure that elections are conducted in an equitable manner in accordance with established procedures, and to ensure that all eligible LACERA members have the opportunity to participate in the election process. The Conflict of Interest/Lobbyist Division staff of the Executive Office is responsible for coordinating the elections to select LACERA board members.
LACERA is comprised of two managing boards, the Board of Investments and the Board of Retirement. For additional information you may visit LACERA Boards.

The Board of Investments has nine members. The Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors appoints five members, and four members are elected by the LACERA membership. Two of the elected members are General Members, one is a Safety Member, and one is a Retired Member.

The Board of Retirement is comprised of nine members and two alternate members. Five members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors and six are elected by the LACERA membership. The six elected members are comprised of two General Members, two Retired Members, one of whom is an Alternate Member of the board, and two Safety Members, one of whom is also an Alternate Member of the board.

  • General member is a person who is working at least three-quarter time as a permanent employee for the County or for an outside district, and who is earning service credit in a retirement plan.
  • Safety member is a permanent employee of Los Angeles County working three-quarter time or more in firefighting, forestry, lifeguarding, or law enforcement (including District Attorney Investigators).
  • Retired member is a former County or outside district employee who has taken either a service retirement or a disability retirement.